Say Peek-A-Boo

Standard

Laden eyelids curtain yellow stained sclera

It falls. Debilitating. Sun-baked and bleak.

Eye lashes wither away by turns

Whisk off towards faraway clarion

Luring chime pantomimes her wish for hope

Rest on a slipping palm to swear

 

She blew and it flown

Into the sky, briskly burnt by the dominant eye

Ash sprinkles in patterns of an omen

Cold shouldered behind the shade of a cryptic cloud

I seek your emergence

Say Peek-A-Boo!

 

Vestigial wings on wrinkled terrestrial body

Land borne vision ventures towards horizon

Shudders with the masked face running across the green

Halt. Take off. Snare me I plead

Say Peek-A-Boo!

 

Walking dead and bowed head

Crisp sight to behold the sights infinite

Yet so devoid of you

Where are you?

 

You exist.

 

I exist.

 

Do WE exist?

 

Perhaps we do. I know we do.

 

Beyond the skies, beyond the horizon we shall meet

In the space lit with fire

It burns covertly

Of what remains of body, wet eyelash and ash

 

My hands unfurl on your face

Brightened eyes nude of wait state

A wink, a gaze, world swirls with craze

An engulfing smile daunts distance left dazed

Free of fate and fleeting time

Whispering lips

Shivering words

We unite

We say Peek-A-Boo!

 

I seek you.

I need to see you.

 

 

©Written Frames, 2017

P.S. One day we will meet for sure!!

41 thoughts on “Say Peek-A-Boo

  1. sherin

    Shefali i must admit i learned lot of new english words from your poem. But i didn’t get this poem fully. can you explain?
    i guess at the start of poem you are blowing a feather like light weight substance(maybe a wish to see something or someone emerging from behind the clouds) from your palm. is it somewhat correct?sorry if this is not what you meant.

    Liked by 2 people

    • You are on the point with summary of this poem…. First stanza deals with weariness of the body waiting for a glance of the one…eyelashes withering away and rests on a palm to wish… wish for the one to appear…. with second and third stanza I seek omens and signs about the one’s existence, searching him all around where the vision goes but all in vain. And then i end it with a hope to meet beyond horizon where we exist and where we will see each other… and this hide and seek willbe over as our hearts will be filled with warmth and ecstasy finding each othet in the space i never knew existed before….

      ☺😊

      Liked by 3 people

  2. It has taken me several days and several reads to be able to comment.
    I see this as a grand piece with several intrinsic pearls that grab the reader in pleasing ways.

    “An engulfing smile daunts distance left dazed” is pure spoken word that can’t be read in silence. In fact the whole piece floods my room as I read aloud.
    Call me biased, call me an amateur WordPresser …. but I rely upon my feelings when I read you. And you provoke me deep.
    ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Excellent work . I didn’t understand 100% at first.
    I Googled it to understand and have read more than 10 times till now.
    After several ways of understanding this piece of work,
    You are provoking , you are creating a desire in me, you are making me biased towards you,

    I just loved it when I understood 100%❤️👍🏻 you this piece of work is dragging me deeper into the depths of words and emotions I feel. 👏🏻

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment