Can I be a verb?

Standard

Can I be a verb?

Without a verb, nouns will rot in one place
Without a verb, a feeling so in numb state
What to perceive, what to convey
Without a verb, between you and I there is a lot to miscalculate

I _ you

I wonder how to say
I liked you
I adored you
I loved you

And those hearsays
About my whispering heart
Clad of love, unearthing the past layers of dirt
So to bloom and hope to portray
Do you hear them say?

I am still, but still
I love you
I miss you
I await you.

It says, but do you hear them right?

My shield of silence against your pike of pride
Being hurt of your carelessness
And your ego uptight
The words never drilled out bright
From the layers of doubt you filled me with

But It never meant and it never will,
The things you think of me
The end you think of us
That not anymore
I love you
I need you

But

I am over you
That I hate you

See me through you
O dear, read me through
My unpolished surface
I glance right back at you

And I ask
Can I be a verb?

I will be if I may
For you to perceive it all in my voice
Can I be a verb of my choice?

 

Β©Written Frames, 2017

47 thoughts on “Can I be a verb?

    • So there was a sentence I was trying to complete. Problem was to have an effective verb than what I had already placed.

      Then I began to think… how powerful verbs are for a sentence… It changes whole meaning….

      Then I was like… perception also works similar manner…. Thing is said with one verb in mind, but is perceived with other…

      And I came up with what you have read… Can I be a verb?

      Hope my verbs communicate well to you ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      • I was whole day occupied. Saw ur source of the poem. Yes it came out very well and i was happy with the creativity around it. Really nice that the words itself are personified in the poem. I wondered after reading ur summary, the words are indeed powerful, they reflect us and speak for us and we live through them. The thing is we would read what we like to hear, so yes perception has a strong role in there and land up in any direction.
        It has come out well Shefali, good.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Thank you for taking an effort to read through it… and try to resonate with my feelings bound with this piece.

          Words are indeed beautiful….they are perceived differently by each of us..

          Thank you Ravi for your kind words. I deeply appreciate it.

          Like

Leave a comment